Visiting New Zealand: Do I need a visa?

Quick check
Take the quick check to see whether you need a visitor visa to come to New Zealand. You don't need a visa to enter New Zealand:
  • If you are a New Zealand or Australian citizen
  • Hold a New Zealand residence class visa
  • Have a current Australian permanent residence visa or a current Australian resident return visa
  • If you are 
    • a diplomat or carry out certain roles in a consular office
    • part of the military personnel
    • a cruise ship passenger who meets certain time and destination requirement
    • an aircraft crew member on any commercial aircraft flying between any other country and New Zealand, for 7 days beginning with the day on which the aircraft arrived in New Zealand, or
    • associated with a Contracting Party to the Antarctic Treaty and other Antarctic travellers
  • If you are from a visa-free country, and intending to visit for no more than your allotted time of three months (or six months if you are from the United Kingdom) - See more details

Visa-waiver countries
The following is a list of visa-waiver countries. If your home country is on the list, then you can enter New Zealand without a visa (where the purpose of the visit is not for medical consultation or treatment), depending on how long you want to stay. However, they are still required to provide:
  • travel tickets or evidence of onward travel arrangements, and
  • evidence of funds for maintenance
Andorra Bahrain
Brunei Chile
Denmark France
Hong Kong** Ireland
Japan Latvia*
Luxembourg Mexico
Norway Portugal***
San Marino Slovak Republic
Spain Taiwan******
Argentina Belgium
Estonia* Germany
Hungary Israel
Korea (South) Liechtenstein
Malaysia Monaco
Oman Qatar
Saudi Arabia Slovenia
Sweden United Arab Emirates
Vatican City
Austria Brazil
Canada Czech Republic
Finland Greece*****
Iceland Italy
Kuwait Lithuania*
Malta Netherlands
South Africa
United States of America****

* Visa waiver does not apply to people travelling on alien's (non-citizen's) passports issued by these countries.

** Residents of Hong Kong travelling on Hong Kong Special Administrative Region or British National (Overseas) passports.

*** Portuguese passport holders must also have the right to live permanently in Portugal.

**** Including nationals of the USA.

***** Greek passport holders whose passports were issued on and after 1 January 2006. (Greek passports issued before 1 January 2006 are not acceptable for travel after 1 January 2007.)

****** Permananent residents of Taiwan travelling on a Taiwanese passport.
See more details

No comments:

Post a Comment